• Abraham Sarache

The Gardener - Instruction manual

The Gardener is an alt/progressive rock concept album with the inclusion of folk instruments like ukulele and venezuelan cuatro. To express the feelings involved, different kinds of voice registers are provided: From a soft, melodious or whispered voice to raspy voice. Various pads and synthesizers are used to give depth and warmth to the songs where an acoustic guitar with a low tuning predominates. A multicultural composition on the instrumental level and a progressive rhythmic base create an exquisite atmosphere of imbalance and peculiarity.

The philosophy behind the album is based on the fact that in any interpersonal relationship, whether it is a friendship or a romantic connection, there is a duality between the one that participates in an active way (The Gardener) and the one that does it in a passive way (The Flower). All of us at some point of our lives have a role of a gardener and in other moments we are flowers .

We can all identify ourselves as the Gardener when we talk about a person we were looking after because we liked him or her, we wanted to know more about this person or we just wanted to spend more time with them, no matter what. We simply did everything possible to make things work.

On the other hand, we have been also in situations when someone was interested in us in a special way, but the feeling was not mutual. We still wanted to maintain a relationship because we liked other aspects of that person's character. To this behavior I refer to as the Flower.

That said, below are the chapters of this album. They are equal to an evolution of emotions expressed depending on how involved we are with the other person. In most cases we do not reach the final chapter because not all the people we meet will end up being of our interest.

Cover art by Iago Dominguez

1.-The Crush

The first meeting. Everything seems like it is a great chemistry and intellectual affinity.

2. Unwrap the masks

The moment you notice something you do not like about the person you're meeting and you get into your defensive side.

3. The first Round / Collision

First confrontation between two obviously different human beings. An abrupt awakening of an idealistic perception you had before.

4. Hope

A moment of reflection and hope. We think of the positive side of having that person and we want to regain contact with him/her.

5. Silence

The most selfish phase where the story is led by our pride and does not allow us to say how we feel and how much we miss that person. We meditate about all what could and could not happen.

6. The Hunt

Determined to change everything, we go for what we want and for what we like that person for.

7. Honesty & Sweetness

A moment of truth in which we detoxify our past and our egos and just let everything flow naturally, as it should have been from the beginning

8. Acceptance

The acceptance of others as they are is a big step into happiness

9. Closure

We will never know how we will change through time or how the person with whom we share our days will change. The key is to be open, to adapt and to live, just to live.

Please, note that this album is an emotional hypothesis in which I believe. I wrote this explanation for you to consider the point of view while listening to the album. However the songs on this album are based on my own personal experience, which is my own "The Gardener". We all have stories to share and different perceptions of emotional facts, it is such a subjective world...

I hope you enjoy the songs. I definitely enjoyed the whole process of creation very much.


Haz click aquí para la versión en español

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Abraham Sarache Logo